This Information Applies To: Agilent AriaMx real-time PCR system, AriaMx analysis software
The AriaMx Data saving behavior when priming experiments from the PC is dependent upon whether the user is logged in or a Guest and whether the user is monitoring the run.
When starting a run from a PC, the AriaMx software will automatically save an empty copy of the file to the PC's hard disk. By default, the file is saved in the folder C:\Users\Public\Public Documents\Agilent Aria, but you can select another directory. If on the PC, you are logged in as a User or Administrator and monitor the run until the end, the data is saved into the empty copy of the file.
|Learn how to start and monitor an AriaMx run in chapter 8 of the Aria Real-Time PCR Software User Manual.|
If the run is started without logging in, as a Guest, or is not monitored to the end on the same PC, the data will not automatically save on the PC. The prerun experiment file will remain empty and the data will be saved on the instrument. You will have to retrieve the data manually either using the Instrument Explorer (Select Instrument>Instrument Explorer in the AriaMx PC software) or inserting a USB stick directly in the AriaMx.
If you start a run as a User or Administrator, but stop monitoring before it finishes, the next time the software and instrument are restarted a message will appear (Figure 1).
When you select Transfer, the software transfers the postrun experiment file from the AriaMx to the default experiment storage folder on your PC. The file is deleted from the AriaMx in the process. If the prerun experiment is saved on PC, the postrun experiment file is saved with a bracketed number appended to the end of the file name (e.g., Experiment 1).
Only once the data has been copied onto a PC or a USB stick, is the run file deleted from the AriaMx. If users share an account on the AriaMx, it is possible for a colleague to inadvertently copy another persons experimental data and thus remove it from the instrument. Therefore it is recommended that each user has their own account, so only they have access to their run data.
For Research Use Only. Not for use in diagnostic procedures.