Signal drops during runs

Hello all,

We have having problems with our LC/MS with the TIC signal dropping below the baseline at various points during many runs (see image), including in "blank" samples/washes (both positive and negative mode).

Our setup: 1290 Infinity II LC, diamond hydride silica HPLC column (solvents H2O and acetonitrile, 0.2% acetic acid), with 6545 QTOF (detecting m/z range 50-1200).

We have tried a new column, different batches of solvent, and re-tuning but no luck...

Help?? 

(Please excuse my inexperience, I am new to this world).

Thanks,

Will

• Hi

First check purity of nitrogen.if it's contaminated then signal can drop.

Second thing temperature variation of ionization source.

If still problem then better to call your local agilent support to troubleshoot onsite.

• Makes sure that the spray for the reference nebulizer is not sputtering when introducing reference stock. 

• .I would also check the spray from the main nebulizer, to see if this is sputtering too.  Also, check the wide exhaust tube from the spray chamber and the waste bottle that it is connected to.  Is the flow obstructed by liquid or some other blockage?

/Andy

• Apologies for potentially redirecting a discussion, but we have a somewhat similar signal loss challenge with our 6545 QTOF.

We express recombinant proteins in E Coli, which take the form of inclusion pellets which in turn gets solubilized in guanidine before loading onto a RP column for LC-ESI-MS.

All is well with most recombinant proteins, except one: there is just one protein that is guaranteed to compromise our performance two ways:

1) the signal count for our CalMix B (prepared from ESI-L with dilution per maintenance guide with acetonitrile/ HP-0321/water) would drop by >75%

2) We'd notice mass adducts of ~25Da that trail our CalMix peaks as called out with the red arrows