change the column gc/ms without stopped turbo pump

Hello !!

I have a question.
how I can change the column in the gc/ms without stopped turbopump ? It is possible?
regards Azrael ?

Parents
  • Use 1 meter of deactivated fused silica tubing going into the source (the same diameter of your column), then use a union (either the press-fit glass type of, better yet, the SilTite brand) to connect to your column in the oven. When you want to change columns, cut the fused silica just after the union and plug it with an old septum while you do the change. Then affix the new column to the union and finally remove the old septum, cut a few mm of the fused silica to remove the rubber plug, clean and affix to the union. Done. I have been doing this for 30 years and it has never failed me. 

Or you can go the expensive way and purchase the Agilent Quick Swap attachment. I have no experience with this, though.

• Gentleman,

The above statements are correct & I would like to point out here from my experience as a service engineer:

1a) Azrael is probably responsible for several users

1b) many "modern" users do not come with our practical experience.

2) Pressfits are good, but in my opinion not suitable for less experienced users or GC novices =>

then metal ferrules like AT CFT (Capillary Flow Technology) or Siltite are the better/more reliable choice.

3) Short MSD restriction capillary:  can I use any dimension? Please, NO

Why are the dimensions of the MS restriction capillary so important?

When the main column is removed, only the restriction capillary (inside the MSD) limits the air flow into the MSD/pump.

The dimensions of this capillary (iD & L) should be calculated, because more than 6(-10)ml into the MSD/pump should be avoided !

Examples for bad & good AIR flow values by restriction capillaries (no gas supply by EPC or main column):

Result/summary

Dimensions of restriction capillary [ID µm * L]

Air Flow into MSD,

(without main column)