HP 5890 II not running.

HP 5890 II not responding. After power-up, initiates "Passed Self Test" routine but stalls at that point. The oven works, and FID is ignited but the light by "Not Ready" is lit up. ChemStation program states: "GC Not Found. Check that GC is Correctly Configured". Any assistance is greatly appreciated as I work as a Fuel Tech at Knoxville Raceway in Knoxville, IA, and time is short to come up with a reason and solution.

Parents
  • Updated Information.

Let me explain what is happening with our GC,  We store the GC in an insulated building that will fluctuate with temp changes.  At the beginning of each racing season, I attach the copper lines connecting the Nitrogen tank and the Air tank to check for leaks.  I then proceed to make sure all pressure gauges are at their correct settings.  I proceed to turn on both gas bottles to their correct pressure settings and begin the ChemStation program.  Then I plug in the GC, turn on the machine, listen to the start-up sequence, and make sure all corresponding lights and the oven begins to heat up.  Normal starting procedures.  

This time after everything is set up and am ready to begin my routine, the GC initiates and begins 'Testing Signal Path' and the oven turns on.  At this point, the machine goes into the 'Passed Self Test' and then stalls.  The oven heat continues to rise to the correct settings but the GC will show 'Not Ready' but will not initiate beyond that point.  ChemStation will produce a warning window "GC not found.  Check that GC is correctly configured.".  I check that all gauges are dials are correct, the pressure is correct, and there are no visual faults.  I proceed to safely go through my shutdown sequence by turning off both gases, exiting out of ChemStation then pressing the on/off toggle to 'off'.