Troubleshooting GC/MS (single-quad) compound identification

Hello,

I'm relatively new to analytical chemistry and not yet super competent in the use of the associated software. I have been spinning my wheels for the past several weeks trying to figure out how I can create a custom library for identifying the compounds present in my data output for GC/MS (single-quad) runs, and I am hoping someone can point me in the right direction for how to do this most efficiently.

I've run authentic standards for most of the key compounds I am interested in and have a spreadsheet of retention times as well as MS spectra for these compounds. I am using Masshunter Qualitative Analysis (B.06.00), which is the most recent version of software I have access to. Most of the compound identification options in the program seem to either be intended for use with a different analytical method or require a known compound mass also to match RT values, which I don't see how that information can be derived from either chromatographic peaks or EI spectra.

I tried creating a custom PCDL using PCDL Manager (B.08.00) and am able to build a custom database manually to set at least retention times. However, it seems I can't add spectra to these compounds in PCDL. When I try copying and pasting a spectrum for a compound from qual I get an error that says something about the spectrum needing to be from a soft ionization source. And then when I try in qual to identify compounds in one of my samples by retention time (actually there is only an option to identify by mass AND retention time) with my custom PCDL set as the database, none of the compounds in my list are successfully identified despite evidently matching retention times.