Extraction Source (G3870-67720 - XTR EI 350) 219 ion

I'm new to extraction sources (G3870-67720 - XTR EI 350) I've been told it's preferable for a tune to have a 219 response higher than the 69 on this source type.

It seems after cleaning about 1 in 3 hit this ratio, but most have 70-80% 219 vs 69.

By manually tuning 219 can be forced higher than 69.

On retuning the values can vary.

How necessary would it be for the 219 to be higher than the 69?

Would this have a big effect on performance?

What could be the reasoning for the different 219 values on each source?

Why am I struggling to achieve this on most of the sources?

Thanks

Parents
  • Hi Jody,

I am assuming you are working with a 5977x (SQ) system and not a 7000x (TQ) system.

Agilent has specifications around the m/z 69-219 ratio on 597x systems in autotune but the range is quite large and there are many variables that contribute to the variation in m/z219 response. One of the major contributors to the response is the source cleanliness. I have found many people don't pay a lot of attention to cleaning the entrance lens but it could be any part of the source.

"atune" tunes the "extractor source" just like it was a standard "inert" source and sets the extractor lens to the same voltage as the source body (traditionally 0V relative to ground).

"etune" tune uses the power of the "extractor lens" to get more ions out of the ionization chamber and down into the quadrupole.