HP 5890 GC-FID

Hello everyone,

This is my first post and I'm excited to have discussions for this thread.

I wanted to start off with a small introduction with some of my experience.  I have 4 years of experience in operation, maintenance, method development on the following systems: Agilent GC 7890 triple quad, Waters Xevo TQS LC-MSMS, Agilent ICPMS 7700x and 7500, GBC AAS and Waters HPLC.

In my new position I have inherited an old HP 5890 GC-FID (older than I am).  Fairly obvious that I will not have software control over conditions and measurements.  (Hell, my ChemStation software shut-down program doesn't work).

I have been operating for 6 months now with not too much trouble and have been releasing test results of samples.  I recently have been receiving an EPPA Shutdown Error.  This is similar to other posts I have seen for various GC models.  I was able to get off Injections prior to the error shutting down the system and once I began my sequence the alarm went away.  Eventually, the time of alarm got worse and worse.

Long story short, I figured out that EPPA was not a random error code, but referencing the pressure of Inlet "A".  So I did some injections and watched the pressure which after a while if it doesn't reach the set point will shut down the instrument.  I noticed that someone had changed my carrier gas cylinder tank, so the inlet system/column was not receiving sufficient gas to operate (Fairly simple).

I increased the gas flow to slightly above 50psi with the regulator and the alarm went away.  The next day, I came into run my system check and noticed an extreme drop in signal (both analyte and baseline).  I have lost my higher level standards signal (almost looking like a ******* beers law past 1).  Additionally, my resolution is ****.  I have multiple peaks forming one full peak at higher concentrations.