Chlorinated paraffins

Does anybody have any experience with the determination of short chain chlorinated paraffins by LC-MS?

Thanks to all!

Parents
  • Hi ,

I'm not experienced in this area, but I'm interested in learning more. What are such paraffins used for? Are you interested in detecting their presence in the environment, where they would be undesired pollutants? Or are you interested in characterizing them in substances used for industrial purposes?  That will help us find help for you.

Thanks. - Josh

• Hi ,

I'm interested to detection and quantification of short chain chlorinated paraffins in leather and textile.

The actual method is based on GC-MS/MS with EI but is impossible to distinguish between short, medium and long paraffins (short C10-C13, medium C14-C17, long C18-C21).

The new ISO test method proposed a determination by GC-MS/MS by ECNI but the preliminary results submitted in commission is not good.

I test new method by LC-MS and I observe an ion cluster for different type of chloroparaffins (short, medium and long) and for difference grade od chlorination

The scope is the determination only short paraffins and quantification at 0.1 mg/kg

Thank you Josh!

Riccardo

• Hi Riccardo,

Don't have experience with these exact compounds but with quick search I found quite nice presentation. Would this one help you?

http://www.agilent.com/cs/library/eseminars/public/Determination%20of%20Chloroparaffins%20in%20Foodstuffs%20by%20GC%20MS…

• Hi Tomi

thank you for the reply!

I saw this document two years ago and at the moment I use the same GC-MS procedure to test the SCCP.

The problem is the same MRM transition to SCCP and MCCP because the retention time is near the same!

With LC-MS I observed the formation of a dimer of SCCP and I saw the different cluster of chlorinated compund

• Hi Riccardo,