Ghost peaks and sudden baseline shifts

5975C MSD and 7890 GC. I am fairly new to GC-MS and am having issues with my baseline. I have recently begun seeing ghost peaks and sudden baseline shifts after replacing a column. I did inlet maintenance and added an in-line gas purifier as well as conditioned the column to help resolve, but the bottom spectra which was run after this maintenance is actually showing the ghost peaks again as well as the sudden baseline shifts I saw before. 

Could this be a detector issue? I have a CI detector but know nothing about how to clean or troubleshoot it. 

• No, I didn't realize that. The lightest component I would be interested in is around 44 MW. Do I do that via the Tune and Vaccum menu?

• No it's in the method. Go to edit entire method and go through the screens. I forget exactly where it is in the MS area of the method, just look around or look in the manual if you have one or the help in the software.

• You can change your scan range under MS Parameters.  Go to Method and Run Control view, I think it is Instrument menu, Edit MS Parameters.

Some gas filters cartridges are filled with N2 during manufacturing for shipping, so it takes some time after installation to purge it all out.  The low O2 shows that it's not a leak.  (Air leak would have N2/O2 ratio approx. 4.)  Agilent's Gas Clean filters are like this.  When I install one on a new system, I'll set the split flow to 250-300 mL/min overnight to purge the N2 from the filter.  Argon (40) sometimes shows up as an impurity in helium, and a gas filter won't remove it.