SPE columns

Hello, i'm a Milan university student in thesis in an analytical lab.

I'm currently trying to develop an analytical method to isolate and analyze Niaprazine in GC-FID, by using as internal standard Phenacetin. But as i know we, in this laboratory, have no experience with this type of extraction!

I need the SPE extraction because Niaprazine is in a complex matrix (Syrup). 

Now the problem is that by doing the extraction using some spare SPE columns of agilent we have in the lab (From what i read the solid phase is a mixture of C18+cation exchange), it seems i don't retain those compounds, since the last extraction with a mixture of CH2Cl2 doesn't seem neither of my target analytes.(I used some standards to make sure it was not a GC-FID method problem, and it does seem to be an extraction problem.

First of all i'm not an expert of SPE extraction since i always studied those on paper, and applied already existing extraction methods, so i might be doing something wrong for sure. My professor suggested to use the Methadone's extraction method certified to work with this type of columns.

This is the Methadone's SPE method applied:

1. Sample preparation: 0.5 mL Niaprazine std in MeOH + 0.5 mL Phenacetine in methanol + 2 mL of phosphate buffer pH 6
  2. Columns conditioning: 2 mL of Methanol + 2 mL of water mq (flow 1 mL/min)
  3. After the conditioning i take the whole sample solution (after Vortex), and i start the SPE extraction with a flow of 1 mL/min
  4. Washing of the columns: 1 mL of water + 2 mL of HCl + 1 mL of MeOH, then i let the columns in high vacuum for 5 minutes.
  5. After the 5 minutes i use 2 mL of a mixture of IPA+CH2Cl2 to extract the content of the SPE solid phase.

As i said when i try to do this procedure it doesn't work. 

Since i have no experimental background on this type of experiments, i decided to do some considerations.