Buffers choices for HPLC amino acids sample?

Hi, I'm new to HPLC and amino acids analysis, therefore I have some questions that I need advise on.

Forgive me for the long writing below, as I think it's better to clear out my methods before asking any questions.

Background Information:

My laboratory has an Agilent 1260 HPLC with quan pump vl, G1321B 1260 FLD, G1314B 1260 VWD VL and auto injector.

I intend to run amino acids analysis (hereby refer as AAA) on fish feed and fish samples. The laboratory own a ZORBAX ECLIPSE PLUS C18 column (4.6 x 100 mm, 3.5 um) and is planning to acquire the HPH C18 (4.6 x 100 mm, 2.7 um; CAT#695975-702) soon.

The current chosen references for HPLC setting are from Agilent application notes: #5990-4547EN, and #5991-5571EN.

The digestion methods employed now are from both AOAC (2012), method 994.12, and Jajic et al. (2013) (link here).

Our main objective is to be able to quantitatively determine the concentration of cysteine in our samples.

Below are my questions:

Q1: The app notes mentioned the uses of DAD for determination, since I'm not interested in any amino acids eluted after peak #20 lysine, can I just run the analysis based on one signal only using the VWD, which is Signal A: 338nm, 10nm bandwidth, and reference wavelength 390nm, 20nm bandwidth? Since this is based on the reasons that Signal B (262 nm, reference 324 nm) are meant for determination of Hydroxyproline, Sarcosine, and Proline which I'm not interested on.

I understand FLD is possible but the particularly low peak area of cysteine in app notes seem to be unsuitable for concentration measurement.

Q2: Based on Q1, since FMOC is means for hydroxyproline, sarcosine and proline, is it possible for me to omit FMOC from my purchases? When FMOC is not used, should I still follow the gradient programs for all 23 peaks, or should it be shortened earlier to 100% mobile phase B after peak #20 lysine?