9 Replies Latest reply on Feb 7, 2019 7:09 AM by hennindm

New to GC FID

revathy

Hi

I am new to GC Method development phase. We are having GC 7820 A with FID detector. Currently I am developing a method for industrial solvents. When I run a blank (THF), I got a very unusual spikes in the chromatogram as seen below. I have changed the inlet, septum and checked the gold seal which looks good and trimmed the column in the inlet end. Any suggestion would be of great help

Thanks

Revathy

• Re: New to GC FID
          james_jenkins

Hi Revathy,

These are electronic noise spikes. Typically when you see a sharp spike with no area under the peak/ spike this is from the fid or fid electronics. The fid collector has a spring connection for the signal to the electrometer and dirt or corrosion can cause spikes like you are seeing. I would suggest taking the FID apart and cleaning the collector assy and changing the jet as a first step. I have attached a section from the 7890 manual that covers FID maintenance. The procedures in the manual apply to other Agilent GC models as well as the FID assemblies are all similar. I hope this helps.

Regards

James

dmarchini

Hello, spikes like that are usually coming from the detector, you can try what happen if you "tic" with a screw on a fid jokin, don't do that

In my lab we don't bother about noise like the one you show us in the picture, cause we set the signal windows between 0 and 50.

But if you need super flat baseline without spikes like that I suggest you to perform manteinance on the fid, especially installing the column perfectly.

Apart from the detector spikes, and to be picky, I would check also the gas purity and the inline carrier filters, because a 10 pA baseline is pretty high for our standard (we have a 3/4 pA baseline at oven 70°C)

revathy

Hi Dmarchini