3 Replies Latest reply on Jan 14, 2019 7:02 AM by hexatriene

Making my Laboratory Control Spectrum the "blank" for my samples

tylerfunke

Hey Agilent Community,

I am very new to Masshunter software and had a few questions regarding my approach to my untargeted metabolomics.

I have been trying to make my laboratory control chromatogram my "blank" basically, and then trying to see which peaks in my samples are different from the control. Is there a method available to easily do this? I feel like I have been having more trouble than I should - as it doesn't seem like that complex of a question. I have looked into possibly creating a custom PCDL that has the control compounds found through the "find by molecular feature" or "find by auto MS/MS" tool, and I have also thought that maybe it would be possible to just background subtract the entire control spectrum from my samples. My data is MS and MS/MS collected from a QTOF, if that is relevant.

Does anyone have suggestions on how I should go about answering this question? Or maybe could someone point me in the direction of a webinar or guide that could help me with this question? Again, I am pretty new to using Masshunter so I apologize if this question seems basic or has already been answered.

• Re: Making my Laboratory Control Spectrum the "blank" for my samples
          hexatriene

Hey tylerfunke,

It sounds like you're trying to re-create our MassHunter Mass Profiler software! This is exactly what it is designed to do:

MassHunter Software: Mass Profiler | Agilent

Here's the quick start guide: https://www.agilent.com/cs/library/usermanuals/public/G3297-90017_MassProfiler_QuickStart.pdf

~Hexatriene

tylerfunke

While the Mass Profiler looked to be what I was trying to do, I do not believe I have that software... I have the 2011 B.05.00 version and could not find a disc for the mass profiler. Is there a possibility I could do something similar with just the Quantitative Analysis software and the PCDL?